How to make Mug Mats using 5″ squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 002

This is a tutorial on how to make these fun Mug Mats using 5″ squares. These are quick and easy and make great gifts.

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Tips & Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to make Mug Mats using 5″ squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 002

  1. Shirley says:

    great tutorials, Susan. make me homesick. would love to be there with you! xx

  2. Marty Campbell says:

    I love your videos! I made some of these Mug Mats to give as Christmas gifts when the neighbors bring over baked goodies – I wanted to do something different. I added a step to your directions, though: I cut two coffee filters into 5-inch squares and sprinkled ground cinnamon and cloves on them, then sewed them between the hidden square and the batting. Now when someone puts a hot mug on the mat, they get a nice cinnamon-clove smell!

Leave a Reply

