Corners block from 5 inch squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 013

Do you have lots of 5″ squares? I do! This pattern can be used for using a variety of fabric squares, all colours, for a scrappy but delicious look! Here I show you how to make the block.

I have a pattern using this block called “Corners using 5″ squares” and it is available on my site in 5″ Charm Square Patterns.

 

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Tips & Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Corners block from 5 inch squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 013

  1. I like this. I wonder what you could do with all of the little corners you cut off the block?? Do you save them or have you used them in another project?

    • Hi, the corners can definitely be used, you could even sew another line of sewing 1/2″ away (into the cut away area) when doing the diagonal sewing, and then when you cut the triangles off you already have a smaller pieced square ready to use. I have used them in borders at times, in long strips of these smaller pieced squares, I have made cushion covers using them. Really, they are great little additives! You could do little runs of them in amongst a quilt perhaps. Let me know what you do!

Leave a Reply

