How to make That Little Shopping Bag using PVC coated fabric – Quilting Tips & Techniques 043

ThatLittleShoppingBag

This video is a tutorial on how to make That Little Shopping Bag using PVC coated fabric. The whole process is shown, from cutting to finishing, showing how to handle the PVC coated fabric.

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Tips & Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to make That Little Shopping Bag using PVC coated fabric – Quilting Tips & Techniques 043

  1. Do you have a heavy duty needle or standard needle in? I noticed your machine has a black plastic extra feed device on the foot. What is that called? It reminds me of a walking foot giving extra traction. Is the teflon foot standard with your Berina machine? I made “diaper pail bags” with this type fabric and found that the SPRING hair clips worked well instead of pins, not wanting any extra holes in the bag beyond the seams.

  2. Hi, I have a standard sewing needle in for this bag, the coated fabric I am using is very soft, but I would put a heavy duty needle in for heavier coated fabrics. The black device on the foot is a dual feed (like a walking foot) and is built into this machine and yes, it gives the extra traction. (I am using a Pfaff for this). The teflon foot I bought as an extra and have been very pleased with it as it doesn’t “grab” these different fabrics..
    Thanks for the tip about using the spring hair clips, great idea. I do actually use them for other things, just hadn’t thought to use them for this!

Leave a Reply

