How to make a Picket Fence block using 5″ squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 045

This video shows how I make a Picket Fence block using 5″ squares. This is a great block for multi-fabric scrap type quilts as well as more organised fabrics.

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Tips & Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to make a Picket Fence block using 5″ squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 045

  1. This turned into a very interesting block. Not at all what I first expected to see. Great lesson again.

  2. I’m so happy to see your tutorial. I started a picket fence quilt 20+ years ago and the pattern at that time called for cutting 45-degree angles prior to sewing strips together. I had such a challenging time keeping the blocks square, I put everything in a bin and put in on the top shelf in my sewing studio where it’s remained all this time. Several months ago, following a resolution I made to complete my UFOs, I took it down and resumed assembly. The quilt top was slightly out of square, but not bad considering the archaic construction techniques. I recently finished it and a friend shared it with a quilting group I belong to via email and someone asked for the pattern. I was reluctant to share the old technique so I did an Internet search and found your tutorial. How pleased I am to see how simple you’ve made construction. I intend to try your technique using charm squares. I know this attempt will be ever-so-much easier as a result of the technique you’ve shared. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

