How to make a Pinwheel Block using 2 1/2″ strips and squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 102

This video shows how to make a Pinwheel block using 2 1/2″ strips and squares. These pinwheels are fun!

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Tips & Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to make a Pinwheel Block using 2 1/2″ strips and squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 102

  1. Another 8 1/2 inch block = THANKS…. I am involved with a project at church where we use 8 1/2 inch blocks, and we usually have just a basic block…..so bored after 6 years and 40+ quilts. I am going to “sneak” a few pinwheels into the quilts in the future, just for a little variety!! Thank you again for your tutorials and very clear instructions.

    • Thank you, I am so pleased the block could be helpful, it’s always good to have some variety when making lots of quilts, well done for your efforts.

    • twemyss says:

      How wonderful! I make quilts for Age Concern and the Hospice, and they are much appreciated! My group is called Waitakere quilters and its amazing how many quilts are given away! It just blows my mind! But these ideas perk us up, none of the quilts are ever the same and after a while you have to scratch your head and say what now?

  2. I put 4 of these blocks together yesterday. 1st block did not measure out at 8.5″. Adjusted seam allowance and tried again. By the time I got to # 4, I had taken off my 1/4″ foot, moved my needle as far right as possible, and was using a very scant 1/4″ seam allowance and got a nice 8.5″ block. Because I intend to incorporate them in with other 8.5″ blocks it is critical to finish at 8.5. If I was making a whole quilt of these blocks, I don’t think I would worry too much, I would square up to 8″ and move along. I do like the block and as always, am happy share your posts with my friends. My take away – make a test block first!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

