Still Floating!

Well, life has been interesting here in the UK, afloat! Not a lot of stitching time! I was able to attend the Fat Quarterly Retreat in London recently, which was terrific. I met loads of people, attended some interesting classes and generally enjoyed the whole weekend. Thank you to the Fat Quarterly organisers. There are photos on their blog here. I was very fortunate to be selected to attend a talk at Liberty which gave us a brief history and some information regarding the fabric design.

libertytalk

Relaxing at the Fat Quarterly retreat.

retreatrelax

For the weekend we took the boat into Paddington Basin so that it would be easier for me to get to the retreat each day on the train, it was such a great place to moor, the weather was amazing (hot!) I could just walk along the canal to the station and there seemed to be a delightful breeze in the evenings!

paddingtonbasin

The canals are delightful, we do have to share the water at times! here are some turtles enjoying the sunshine!

turtlesoncanal

There are loads of birds around including the delightful swans.

canal

 

The Festival of Quilts held at the NEC, Birmingham, UK, is next week, so I am busy preparing to be a merchant there, I am looking forward to seeing all the quilts in the exhibition, and of course the other merchants!

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Travels, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Still Floating!

  1. lattegirl40 says:

    sounds like so much fun!!

  2. What an adventure you are on – enjoy.

  3. Enjoy! What a hoot…scooting about in a canal boat. I can only imagine the creative thoughts! Good luck at the show.

    • Thanks, we are enjoying it! Will you be at the show?

      • I can only dream….I’m in the States working on your mystery quilt and a pair of your pillowcases for my daughter who just got married this past Saturday! I, for one, would be interested in patterns for your vegetables on your canal video. Hope you continue to enjoy yourselves!

  4. Marie Dempsey says:

    So pleased you are enjoying the lovely weather we are having at the moment, hope to see you at the Festival of Quilts.

    I finally started the mystery quilt last week when we got back from holiday and finished the first five episodes in three days, can’t wait until the final part is published because I still cannot work out what the finished quilt will look like.

  5. So wonderful you are having a lovely time on your working holiday! I can’t help but wonder – when are you coming home to make more tutorials? We miss you!

  6. Pippa says:

    I will definately be popping by your stall at the NEC to say hello! I am a huge fan of your tutorials.

  7. Francine says:

    It was really great to meet you!!

Leave a Reply

