How to make a Lemoyne Star look alike block using 5″ squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 139

I have been busy travelling again! A wonderful visit to Scotland where my husband and I were fortunate to stay at a delightful Quilt Retreat/B&B, West Manse, for a few days where we ate magnificently and were housed wonderfully, thanks to the hosts Chris and Peter, and I was privileged to catch a glimpse of some of the local nightlife in the form of a pine marten which I understand is a fairly uncommon sight. On top of that, getting to know other quilters and actually doing some sewing myself, I had a really good time. We managed to get another tutorial filmed whilst there too, so here it is!

This video shows how to use some 5″ squares to make a block that looks like a Lemoyne Star.

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Tips & Techniques, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How to make a Lemoyne Star look alike block using 5″ squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 139

  1. leeanne says:

    hey great way to use those charm packs!

  2. kaholly says:

    Great video tutorial! You are a genius. It appears that you have padding under your cutting mat. Can you tell me about that?

  3. Great tutorial – thank you very much.

  4. Thanks for the great tutorial. I wonder if starching the squares before you do any cutting will help keep them from being pulled out of shape on the bias?

Leave a Reply

