How to make a Dresden Wedge using 5″ squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 140

Well I am currently home from my travels to the UK, this video was filmed in Scotland before I headed home.
This video shows how to make delicious Dresden Wedges using 5″ squares.

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Tips & Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to How to make a Dresden Wedge using 5″ squares – Quilting Tips & Techniques 140

  1. missed your video’s every day! Love the bright read button in the center of the dresden circle.

  2. Great video. I will try this now.

  3. leeanne says:

    Another great video! I really enjoy these tips & tricks.

  4. Francine says:

    This is a great tutorial – I really love using charm squares. Now I need to go check out all your other ones!! Francine

  5. sewingfoo says:

    I so enjoy your blog and videos. They have taught me a lot and my quilting has really improved. Thanks so much.

  6. Rae Haller says:

    Where are you? I have not seen a new video since end of October, a month and a half ago. I really miss you. Am a bit. Worried that you may not be okay. I’m praying for you.
    Rae (nrhaller@aol.com)

  7. Jessica says:

    Yay! I’m so glad I found this video! It has help me so much with the sampler quilt I’m making. I was wondering what the white surface you are ironing on is made of? Is it your desk or do you have some kind of board over your desk? I would love to be able to just iron right beside my machine as I sew:-)
    Thanks, Jessica
    juceyj03@gmail.com

    • Hi, I am actually using someone elses studio in this video and in fact am using her ironing table as my desk! The table is covered with a padded layer and cotton, possibly sheeting, over the top. Makes a great surface for ironing, I have a simialr surface at home, on top of the chest deep feezer!

  8. Linda says:

    Can you tell me what kind of iron you recommend and also what kind of pad are you ironing on. Thank you so much. I am thoroughly enjoying all of your videos. I am trying to collect all the tools that I neex to start quilting and don’t know what I should purchase.

    • Hi, thanks for watching the video. As for an iron, I usually use a middle of the range steam iron, not a fancy one as I find them harder to manage. If you can get one with a blue non-stick soul plate, that is helpful but now essential. In this video I am ironing on a table that has been covered with padding and cotton fabric. At home I ron either on a regular ironing board or a chest style deep freezer that I have covered with a couple of old woolen blankets and cotton fabric on top. Works well for me, especially when ironing large quilt tops.
      As far as quilting supplies in gerneral are concerned, you could consider a rotary cutter, self-healing cutting board and quilters ruler. I always suggest to get the best possible ones you can afford as some of the cheaper ones don’t last so well.

    • Linda says:

      Thank you so much for your reply. It looks like you are having wonderful adventures. Please keep us posted regarding your experiences and please continue to share your wonderful spirit and knowledge.

  9. Sue Flego says:

    How Susan
    just read your post on squilters. Good on you – what a fabulous thing to be doing. Good luck in all your ventures.
    Regards Sue

  10. Sue Flego says:

    sorry that should read Hi -Susan 🙂

Leave a Reply

