How to make a fun block with squares and folds – Quilting Tips & Techniques 166

This video shows how to have some fun with squares of fabric and some folds. The block size depends on what size squares you use, in this video the squares are cut 4 1/2″ square so will finish at 4″ square.

About GourmetQuilter

My name is SusanClaire Mayfield and I live in a delightful old home in the country in New Zealand. I have been quilting for many years and have been designing quilting patterns for a long time now! I love to design and write patterns for quilts and bags and other quilt related items and now have quite a large range.
This entry was posted in Tips & Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to make a fun block with squares and folds – Quilting Tips & Techniques 166

  1. christine says:

    Wow – the end results look fantastic – Off to make a cushion cover!! PS: You are looking amazing – the UK is obviously treating you well! Cheers, Christine Taupo

  2. Rosie says:

    Susan – you always come up with the most interesting blocks. I just love your latest technique #166. I’m chomping at the bit to try it so I better get going on these unfinished Christmas projects. Stay happy and keep creating.

  3. Char Rathhman says:

    I have just completed a quilt with your above block that was 6 squares across, and 7 down for my daughter ‘s birthday, using quite a few of the charm squares I have collected….she loved it, would send picture but am not sure how……thank you for this demo.

  4. Tara says:

    Love this idea and made a Christmas gift for my Mom in Ontario, Canada based on your video. This is the second delicious quilt you have inspired me to put together this year! My table mat/ runner was made up of non sashed 2.5″ blocks and I used your double mitred border idea to finish it. You are very inspiring to me so I thank you for your hard work and great teaching!

Leave a Reply

